Hayes back for Tamahere


Councillor Wally Hayes will continue to represent the Tamahere ward on the Waikato District Council as he faces no opposition in the October local body elections.

Cr Wally Hayes

Nominations for elections closed at midday today and according to this list of candidates on the council website, Hayes will be elected unopposed.

Tamahere ward electors will, however, be voting for a new district mayor. The nominations list showed three candidates for the job left vacant by the retiring Peter Harris. They are Clint Baddeley, Allan Sanson and Frank McInally.

Meanwhile, at least four Tamahere residents are seeking election to other bodies, three to Hamilton City Council and one to Environment Waikato. Margaret Forsyth and Glenda Saunders are standing in the East Ward for Hamilton city while Sharyn Cawood is standing in the West Ward. Russ Rimmington is standing for Environment Waikato’s Waipa-King Country constituency.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.