Hayes back, 5 race for mayor


Waikato District Council’s Tamahere ward councillor, Wally Hayes, has again been elected unopposed to the role he’s held for six years.

Tamahere ward councillor Wally Hayes
Tamahere ward councillor Wally Hayes
First elected in 2007, Hayes was also unopposed at the last election in 2010.

But there is still plenty to interest Tamahere voters in the October local body elections with five candidates standing for Waikato mayor as well as elections for the regional council and Waikato District Health Board.

In total 65 people had put their hats in the district ring when nominations closed today (August 16), including the five nominations for mayor, 23 nominations for councillor, 38 nominations for community boards and five nominations for the Te Kauwhata Licensing Trust.

In the region, 38 candidates came forward to contest six general and two Maori constituencies for the Waikato Regional Council.

Meanwhile, 20 people will vie for seven positions on the Waikato District Health Board.

Everyone correctly enrolled by today will receive their voting papers in the mail between September 20-25. The papers must be sent back by midday on Election Day, October 12.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *