Community enthusiasm high


Enthusiasm is so great for the Tamahere Community Committee that its membership has risen by two.
Tamahere Community Committee
Fourteen people were nominated for the 12 positions on the committee at tonight’s election meeting, chaired by Waikato District Council chief executive Gavin Ion.

But rather than douse the eagerness and turn away keen locals the meeting decided to increase the representative group’s numbers.

With 22 people attending the triennial election meeting, including re-elected Mayor Allan Sanson, it was one of the better attended turn-outs for the committee’s ballot of recent times.

The new committee retains the majority of the experienced hands of its predecessor along with some new faces including erstwhile Tamahere ward and mayoral candidate Donna Nichols, and two relative newcomers to the area, Tim van de Molen and Graham McAdam.

The committee chair of recent years, Dallas Fisher, was re-elected to the position as was deputy chair Sue Robertson. Donna Nichols will replace the outgoing Maggie Wilcock as committee secretary.

The full list of committee members, whose residence in Tamahere ranges from 12 months to 60 years, and their contact details is here on the dedicated Tamahere Community Committee page on Tamahere Forum.

Exciting times

Also at the meeting, newly elected Tamahere ward councillor Aksel Jepsen, whose role will be supported by the committee’s work, noted that his political career had started at the Tamahere Community Committee.

“I’m on a big learning curve,” he said after a day spent familiarising himself with council’s functions.

“I come to the job with enthusiasm and really wanting to do something for the community, and all of the district. There are a lot of things that are happening that are exciting,” Jepsen said.

Sanson was similarly excited by the prospect of another year heading the district.

“It’s exciting times for Tamahere as it is for the whole district,” he said adding that he was looking forward to working with Jepsen.

For Maggie Wilcock, the hard working and long serving committee secretary, it was her last meeting. She was thanked for her many years of service by Robertson and roundly applauded by the meeting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.