New deputy mayor targets climate


New Waikato district deputy mayor, Tamahere councillor Aksel Bech, aims to develop a council response to climate change “with priority and urgency”.

The new Waikato District Council was sworn in at a ceremony today following elections earlier this month.

Re-elected mayor, Allan Sanson, and thirteen councillors will represent the district across 10 wards for the next three years.

Waikato District Councillors, from back left, Askel Bech, Chris Woolerton, Jacqui Church, Noel Smith, Lisa Thomson, Rob McGuire, Carolyn Eyre, Janet Gibb, Mayor Allan Sanson, Jan Sedgwick, Eugene Patterson, Shelley Lynch and Stephanie Henderson. (Cr Frank McInally absent.)

Bech was appointed to the deputy mayor role left vacant by retiring, long term councillor Dynes Fulton, who stepped down after 15 years on the council, nine as deputy mayor.

Bech said he would focus locally at Tamahere as major projects were completed. They included the development of Tamahere Park along with ensuring connectivity for walking and cycling.

“I look forward to working more closely with iwi and all our communities as we support, encourage, enable – or sometimes simply get out of the way – of them implementing their own visions,” he said.

He would also work “with more priority and urgency” on getting a more strategically and co-ordinated approach to climate change.

More on this topic: Too little climate action: Bech

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *