New deputy mayor targets climate

New Waikato district deputy mayor, Tamahere councillor Aksel Bech, aims to develop a council response to climate change “with priority and urgency”.

The new Waikato District Council was sworn in at a ceremony today following elections earlier this month.

Re-elected mayor, Allan Sanson, and thirteen councillors will represent the district across 10 wards for the next three years.

Read more

School shines silver

Tamahere School today gained an Enviroschools silver award for its sustainability practices.

The step up from the previously held bronze status came after an audit of the school’s programmes from waste management to vegetable growing.

The award was bestowed on the school in a ceremony attended by Waikato District Mayor Allan Sanson.

Read more

New councillor’s job list grows

Tamahere’s new councillor found the list of what he hopes to achieve for Tamahere growing over the election campaign.
Political newcomer Aksel Jepsen, 51, won the two-way election for the Waikato District Council’s Tamahere ward at the weekend by 196 votes, on preliminary results.
Jepsen, who will succeed three-term councillor Wally Hayes, polled highest with 815 votes to his rival Donna Nichols’ 619 votes on election night.

Read more

Founders “Waikato” theatre: HCC

The future of Hamilton’s mothballed Founders Theatre has been unilaterally declared a Waikato-wide issue.

“Founders Theatre is a regional facility, and an important asset to both Hamilton and the surrounding districts,” said Hamilton City Council’s Executive Director of H3 and Events Sean Murray in a statement today.

That clearly took the Waikato District Council by surprise which, within minutes of the city’s media release, rushed out its own statement calling for wider discussion “before any single facility is treated as a regional amenity on an ad hoc basis.”

Read more

Awards highlight community depth

Tamahere “eco-warrior” Leo Koppens’ environmental work has been recognised with a Waikato District Council Mayoral Community Award.

Koppens was one of 13 community volunteers from around the district who received awards today at a moving event that was packed with their proud families and supporters.

Matangi’s Graham Membery, chairman of the Matangi Community Committee, received an award for his many years of community work.

Read more

Hayes keeps job

Tamahere district councillor Wally Hayes will keep the chairmanship of the Waikato District Council’s powerful Infrastructure Committee.
Hayes’ job was under threat after Waikato Mayor Allan Sanson swore, at a full council meeting on November 9, to replace him with deputy Mayor Dynes Fulton after alleging a relationship breakdown.
But Sanson backed down on Monday, allowing Hayes to keep his chairmanship.

Read more

Hayes champions water CCO

The Waikato District Council wants to form a ratepayer-owned, council controlled organisation (CCO) for future water management along with the Waipa District and Hamilton City Councils.

In May, independent consultants recommended the three councils form a not-for-profit CCO to manage water and wastewater across the sub-region, a move predicted to save ratepayers of the three Councils $468 million over 28 years.

Waikato district would save $28 million over 10 years, and would get huge benefits from improved drinking water quality and environmental compliance, said the report whose recommendations have been championed by Tamahere councillor Wally Hayes.

Read more

Anzac spirit in community: Mayor

As we commemorate the 100 year anniversary of the Gallipoli landing we’re reminded of the commitment made by thousands of men and women who served, and continue to serve, our country.

The events of April 25 not only shaped a day of everlasting significance for all New Zealanders, but it also helped cultivate an Anzac spirit founded on courage, camaraderie and commitment.

I believe this Anzac spirit lives on in our community today.

Read more