New councillor’s job list grows

Tamahere’s new councillor found the list of what he hopes to achieve for Tamahere growing over the election campaign.
Political newcomer Aksel Jepsen, 51, won the two-way election for the Waikato District Council’s Tamahere ward at the weekend by 196 votes, on preliminary results.
Jepsen, who will succeed three-term councillor Wally Hayes, polled highest with 815 votes to his rival Donna Nichols’ 619 votes on election night.

Read more

Sanson back, fluoride favoured

Allan Sanson has been returned as Waikato district mayor with more than 1690 votes ahead of his nearest rival, Bruce Cameron.

Tamahere ward councillor Wally Hayes was elected unopposed in the election that closed on Saturday, October 12, along with three other councillors. Six wards were contested.

Waikato residents on the Hamilton city water supply, which includes Tamahere, also gave strong support for fluoride to be reinstated in the supply.

Read more

Hayes back, 5 race for mayor

Waikato District Council’s Tamahere ward councillor, Wally Hayes, has again been elected unopposed to the role he’s held for six years.

First elected in 2007, Hayes was also unopposed at the last election in 2010.

But there is still plenty to interest Tamahere voters in the October local body elections with five candidates standing for Waikato mayor as well as elections for the regional council and Waikato District Health Board.

Read more

Stand up for Waikato

Nominations are open for candidates to stand for election to the Waikato district and regional councils, and the Waikato District Health Board.

One of the most important ways to take part in the decisions that shape the Waikato is to get involved in the local authority elections, either by standing for election as a community representative or voting for the people who stand.

The elections, held every three years, give the public the opportunity to vote for who they want to be district mayor, district and regional councillors, and seven of the members of the health board.

Read more