Posts Tagged ‘ Waikato mayor ’

Election contest for Tamahere

Aug 13th, 2016 | By
Tamahere central

Tamahere is to have a contested election for the next councillor to represent the ward on the Waikato District Council for the first time in nine years.

Local man Aksel Jepsen declared his candidacy in early July and when nominations closed yesterday he was joined by Donna Nichols, a one-time Waikato District Council staff member.

The last time Tamahere voters had a choice of candidate was in 2007 when Wally Hayes defeated Andrew Gibson for the seat he has held, uncontested, ever since.

Hayes bids for mayoralty

May 16th, 2016 | By
Wally Hayes

Tamahere’s three-term district councillor, Wally Hayes, has launched an all or nothing bid for the Waikato mayoralty.

First elected to represent Tamahere in 2007 and twice since re-elected unopposed, the 53-year-old will step down from the role at the October local body elections and seek only the Waikato’s top position.

Hayes, who has clashed with incumbent mayor Allan Sanson, is the second announced contender for the Waikato mayoralty.

Mayoral hopefuls give views

Sep 16th, 2013 | By

Four men have stepped forward to challenge incumbent Allan Sanson for the Waikato District mayoralty.

Electors can expect to receive their voting papers in the mail from Friday, September 20 and have until midday October 12 to return them.

The Tamahere Community Committee has invited the mayoral candidates to provide details about themselves and their views on Tamahere. They are:

Waikato district changes look, mayor

Sep 18th, 2010 | By

Waikato District Council will have a substantially different geographic and political look after the October 9 elections.

Candidates doubtful of super-Waikato

Sep 15th, 2010 | By

All three Waikato District Council mayoral candidates have doubts about the feasibility of an Auckland-style super-city council if it were to be formed in the Waikato.

Mayoral hopefuls have say on Tamahere

Sep 14th, 2010 | By

The three mayoral candidates standing for election to the Waikato District Council have given their views on Tamahere at the invitation of the Tamahere Community Committee.

Hayes back for Tamahere

Aug 20th, 2010 | By

Councillor Wally Hayes will continue to represent the Tamahere ward on the Waikato District Council as he faces no opposition in the October local body elections.